The Summer of Awesome – Day 9

And away we go… Onwards with The Book of Awesome:

(49) The thank-you wave when you let somebody merge in front of you (pg 96)

9ed6bcfa1ffc8aad10aa1d639483c9eb--jerry-seinfeld-on-the-phone.jpgI just experienced one of these right before I sat down to write this and realized, do you know how rare I find the “thank-you wave” is these days?

Mr Pasricha sets out four types of courtesy-waves on top of just your good ol’ Thank-You wave (the one you give when you switch lanes to thank the person who lets you in):

  1. The Red Light Squeeze – when you need to make a right turn and the person ahead of you goes up a bit so you can squeeze by and make your turn earlier than you would have otherwise.
  2. The Pre-Wave – when you are already squeezing your way into an already packed lane and are giving them a wave so they’ll let you in and “build up some goodwill.”
  3. The Apology Wave – when you do something like block up traffic trying to get out of your parking spot (though the example he gives is the much more aggressive, “side-swip[ing] a van of teenagers.” :p
  4. The Go-Ahead Wave – when you let someone go ahead of you at a four-way stop.

I’d say I manage to do all of them at some point – but probably #2 the least because I am not a very aggressive driver and rarely try to squeeze into tight places. I do give it if I need to switch lanes because of construction blocking part of the road, that I just noticed as I got closer to it, and someone is nice enough to let me in (which…really…they’re supposed to do anyway and I usually don’t have this happen because I’ll spot the sign well in advance and switch ASAP), but that seems more like an Apology Wave.

How many of these have I found people give me? In recent years? Practically NONE!

I don’t know if it’s just my area (could be) or that people are too busy to even give a little wave these days (might be), but getting the wave I did today (it was a #3 – apology wave because I had to wait to pass by because she had been pulling out of a parking spot awkwardly) I was actually surprised to get a thank-you wave.

This leads me to think, there’s actually a FIFTH thank-you/courtesy wave that I just gave to that lady today myself:

  • 5. The OMG you actually gave me a thank-you wave, I feel I need to thank-you wave back at you just for that! Wave

Then again, I am Canadian, so this might be just one of our over-the-top politeness moments too…

(50) When you’re really tired and about to fall asleep and someone throws a blanket on you (pg 98)

As nice as this is in theory, I am one of those people who, if I do happen to start napping (which, as you may have learned from Day 2, I don’t tend to), the slightest change in the environment will wake me up.

Gets a bit warmer? I’ll wake up.

Someone shuts the TV off? I’ll wake up.

Someone throws a blanket on me? I’ll wake up.

And to be honest, I don’t mind because when I fall asleep in the middle of the family room… I’m usually drooling all over myself, so better to stop me earlier!

(51) Getting your ID checked when you’re way over the legal age (pg 100 – woo hoo!)

hqdefaultI was never a rebellious child or teen. I never had any need for a fake ID because I never did anything that would require one.

I probably could’ve gotten away with way more than the average kid too because I was a head taller than almost everyone I knew. When I was in grade 3 (8 or 9 years old for those of you not in the Canadian school system), someone asked me if I knew a boy in Grade 8 – so that tells you how tall I actually was (still am, but I think it was more confusing to people when I was younger.)

Now, thanks to the good genes of my awesome parents, even though I have been alive for a full (*shudder*) THREE DECADES I still get asked for ID. Just to let you know how young people think I am, you may remember from my birthday post that I was excited to turn 19 years old because I was legally able to gamble – that’s the same age you need to be to drink and buy cigarettes too (not that I want to).

At the ripe o’ age of 30 (31 in six weeks!), I still get asked for ID when buying lottery tickets! In fact, a week after my 30th birthday, a cashier asked me for ID when I bought a scratch ticket. I burst out laughing and said, “I’m 30!” (First time I actually said those words out loud too), but produced my licence anyway for inspection, all while he was saying “No, no! It’s okay! It’s okay! I believe you!”

You’d think I hate that, but boy do I love it. I was more than happy to show off my licence to him.

You know what I do hate? When people say, “You look just like you did in high school.” WELL, what kind of backhanded compliment is that?? I like to think I look better than I did in high school, thank you very much! But, as my sister pointed out when I ranted about this very thing to her, “There’s a huge difference between someone saying you look 16 and you look like your 16 year old self.” Not many people I know want to look like their 16 year old SELF again!

(52) The smell of rain on a hot sidewalk (pg 103)

We’ve had a severely rainy summer this year, unlike one we’ve had since my childhood. Usually, in the last few years, we’d get spurts of five minutes of rain and then it would end and be back to blistering heat.

This year, we’ve had some proper thunderstorms, kinds that, actually, do remind me of being a kid and jumping around in the rain. The smell of rain on a hot sidewalk (or driveway, even more for me) totally reminds me of childhood because of this very reason. I used to love when I’d go out just after it rained and I’d see the rain already starting to evaporate away into hot mist. At the time, I didn’t quite understand what was happening, it just seems to like some cool sort of magic.

(53) That friendly nod between strangers out doing the same thing (pg 104)

FrodoNod
The irony of using a Lord of the Rings GIF on an entry that’s primarily about Harry Potter is not lost on me… 😛

I am really trying to wrack my brain to remember a time when I had this happen…

If anything, I don’t think I’ve ever have gotten a nod, so much as an awkward smile OR strangers who just randomly start up conversations.

This never happened more than when I started reading the Harry Potter books in 2005.

I was in university at the time (late to the party, mostly due to my own stubbornness of not wanting to give in when my friends tried to convince me they were amazing – that’s a whole other story that could warrant a post all its own), and I found myself reading them all over campus.

With every single book, I would get at least ONE weirdo person who would yell to me:

“OH MY GOD! THAT’S THE BEST ONE!

When I finished all six books (at the time), I soon realized… I was that person weirdo.

Whenever I saw someone reading one of the Harry Potter’s  I would get all excited inside and want to talk to them, and I do believe one time, when someone was reading Goblet of Fire, I did the exactly thing people had done to me and yelled out:

“OH MY GOD! THAT IS THE BEST ONE!

(Since then, I’ve come to think of Half-Blood Prince as my favourite, but Goblet of Fire is still my other favourite…though Deathly Hallows is up there too!)

Maybe it’s just because I am a chatty person, so rather than a nod, people are more likely get an awkward conversation instead…

(54) Really, really old Tupperware (pg 105)

Ahh there’s only one thing this calls to mind.

The pink container.

Since I was young, we have had these pink Tupperware containers that we have constantly used for everything.

In this day and age of BPA and all that freaky stuff, it’s probably not the best thing to still be using… But we’re just all so used to them. Not a day goes by where at least one of us doesn’t use the “pink containers” for something! (That sentence came out weird; a lot of double negatives… What I mean to say, is that we always use the dang things!)

And that is where I must leave you all today. Try to contain your disappointment! 😛

Leave a Reply

